Doggy Bed Dilemma

I have mentioned before Tucker eats everything. You name it he has tried to eat it in our house.  He has already eaten two dog beds and basically shredded a comforter that we used to keep in his kennel.  We decided to take a break from dog beds and blankets until somebody matured a little bit, but with his hip displasia we felt bad and wanted him to have a new dog bed. We have no will power.  We had a plan though, we would only leave the dog bed out at night for him to sleep on and we would bring it downstairs if we were both home to watch him.

This plan worked for a while and we were able to stop Tucker from ripping into the bedding. He nibbled a small hole early on but I sewed it up pretty quickly and he seemed to be doing well. Until I left his bed out one morning while I got ready.

image

Mom, I don’t know what happened that hole just appeared.

I walked in and Tucker was playfully attacking the dog bed.  Thankfully I stopped him before he did too much damage but the inside netting material took a beating.

image

I don’t know how those got there either Mom.

Needless to say that liner was a little too fragile for Tucker. So I decided to get creative.  I took Tucker’s old comforter he mangled and made it the new slip cover for the stuffing.

image

Mom, my big blanket! Where did you find it!

It was just a few quick cuts and I ran it through my sewing machine and it was ready for the pillow.

image

My blanket is so fluffy now!

It is not done with any sophistication but I think it will get the job done and provide an extra layer to keep Tucker from getting to the stuffing. I took some scrap material to patch the hole he chewed as well.

image

Mom, what happened to my bed?

There we go, good as new! I learned a valuable lesson as well, Tucker cannot be left unsupervised with his bed AT ALL! Unfortunately for Tucker my Grams gave me her sewing machine so I make a worthy opponent in his chewing obsession.

image

This round goes to you Mom. Well played.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Doggy Bed Dilemma

  1. How does Tucker even make such round holes?! The one on the gloves, too, a few days back.. Does he like pull the piece of material out, or how? 🙂 Do you ever find the missing round piece next to the place of crime?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment