Doggy Donation #3

Reid and I packed up some donations for Great Plains SPCA again this month.  We keep going back to them because we just love the facility. I am thinking about trying to volunteer there. I’m afraid I would be to sad I couldn’t take them all home though. This time we purchased a big pack of paper towels, a flat of canned dog food and a large bag of dry dog food.

image

Mom, I want the canned food!!!

Of course we walked around looking at all the dogs and I wanted to take home all of them. Its so hard not to, I just get so sad that people didn’t want a dog or that a dog was born on the streets.  Sorry that sounds really depressing but there was an adorable chocolate lab there that broke my heart.  He is 8 years old and named Gus, but that tells me he most likely had a family at one point.

Then we met an adorable 2 month old retriever puppy named Percy that stole my heart again.

I know that because I have a lot going on at work that makes me vulnerable to taking on distractions, and in my mind puppies solve everything! But I have to think long term and remember we have to have Tucker healed and make sure we can properly care for him first.  Speaking of my handsome furchild that loves to cause mischief, I will have an update on his most recent check up from today……

12 thoughts on “Doggy Donation #3

  1. We know exactly how you feel however, we must remind ourselves that dogs do not think like us! Our local Humane Society has so many wonderful dogs but, much as we often contemplate another one, we also acknowledge that Ray would some difficulty sharing us and his territory. For Ray’s happiness, we never go beyond a little contemplation! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m already thinking about what to do when the Brindle Dog dies because I know the Fluffy Dog will be so lonely. I can’t really afford another dog so I think probably I will foster for a while. That will give the Fluffster a companion without being so financially hard on me. But I still hope my old Brindle Girl will be around for a while yet! It’s really hard to visit a shelter and go away without a new furbaby. Puppies solve an awful lot, but they’re sure lots of work!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Older animals in shelters make me sad, too! They were someone’s happy companion for the majority of their life… What changed for that person/family? I know there could be all kinds of things, but I usually imagine the worst.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Good for you for donating to your SPCA shelter. You might find volunteering there to be rewarding – knowing that even though you can’t take them all home, you can give them a lot of love and care when you are there.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment