A Chilly Dogs Night Out

Tucker and I frequent the dog park.  We visit at least three times a week and then we always try to be there one the weekends too.  The dog park is not funded by the city but by local people and donations.  This is such an important place to us that we had to be at the fundraiser for the park.  Some maintenance needs to be done there and I wanted to see who to talk to to start volunteering.  We saw some flyers in the park for their event and made plans to attend.  It was called a Chilly Dogs Night Out Chili Supper.  They had a chili dog meal, games, demonstration and a raffle.  We got to see some of our other dog park friends there too.

image

I know these people! Why aren’t we all at the dog park?!

After we got our food I thought it would be fun to play the dog tag game they had scheduled.  So Reid and I each got a dog tag.

image

Mom, Dad doesn’t look that excited. What are they going to make you do?

The game was actually heads or tails.  When the music stopped you put your hands on your head like dog ears for heads or by your back side for a dog tail.  Then if you picked what Clifford the Big Red Dog picked you got to stay in the game.  I was out in the first round, but Reid was doing great!

image

Mom, what is Clifford doing behind Dad?

Not sure Reid was as excited as I was but he made it to the final two.

image

Mom, what is Dad doing?

And….He ended up winning!! We got a great gift basket!

image

Mom! Why is another dog hanging out with my Dad!?

Later they had a demonstration by search and rescue dogs and it was really interesting to see what they do and meet the dogs.

image

Mom, why do those dogs get to be there and I had to stay home?

After that they had a dog trivia game for prizes and Reid won again! We got a draw string bag with some goodies in it.  Reid was my good luck charm but we didn’t win the 50/50 raffle. We were happy that the gentleman that did win donated the money back to the park!  After everything I couldn’t wait to get home to check out our goodies.

image

I see toys and treats in there!

The trivia bag had a puppy themed cup, notepad, magnet clip, koozie and frisbee in it.  I gave the frisbee to one of our friends because Tucker would eat it. The basket had a coffee mug, dog shampoo (sensitive skin), Dog Mom and Dog Dad mason jars, a canister of dog treats, stuffed dog toy, rope toy, photo frame and a coupon to a local vets office. All in that adorable basket!

image

That’s a lot of drinking cups, I only need one bowl.

image

That’s my rope toy you gave me! Can I have it back? I only got it for like 20 minutes.

Tucker got the toys that night and quickly ripped into the rope toy and destroyed the stuffed donkey.

image

Give me the toy!!

Even though Tucker didn’t get to go he seemed pretty happy to get some new treats and toys. I don’t know how excited he will be about the shampoo.  We had a great time and were so happy we got to go.  They are holding an event in May that we can’t wait for as well.

 

8 thoughts on “A Chilly Dogs Night Out

Leave a comment