Doggy Donations

Reid and I sat down to make actual new years resolutions this year.  In my classes I teach the students goal setting and I thought it would be appropriate to have a goal this semester along with them.  So Reid and will be donating supplies to a local dog shelter once a month.  We were really excited about this because even though its not a huge donation we still felt we were ready to start giving back and wanted to do what we could.  Our first box  went Great Plains SPCA-Independence Location.

image

Mom, where are you!?

This is a local shelter and they help so many animals here, not just dogs and cats.  They take in basically everything.  I have been there before with my cousins to play with the cats and really loved the facility.

image

We followed their donation suggestions from their webpage and ended up getting a little of everything.

image

Mom, why can’t I have it?

Here is our list of goodies:

  1. Pack of Paper Towels
  2. Hand Sanitizer
  3. Dog Treats
  4. Canned Dog Food
  5. Dry Dog Food
  6. Peanut Butter
  7. Disinfectant Wipes

Next time we might buy a bunch of one item instead of one of each.  Even thought they  only use Science Diet for their animals, (they can purchase it at a discounted rate) they use the other brands for their HERO program.  They help families who cannot afford to feed their animals or they use it for their foster families that care for their animals in their own home.  Reid and I looked around while we were there and its hard not to come home with another dog.  There were so many cats and dogs there that needed homes.

We are super excited about this resolution and posting about it will make us more accountable to not forget one month.  So thank you readers for helping us stay on track. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Doggy Donations

  1. That’s such a great goal! It feels so good, right? 🙂 Every year for my birthday, I make a donation to the shelter where I got the Fluffy Dog and both the cats. It’s my birthday present to myself. Are you planning to pick a different shelter every time?

    Liked by 1 person

    • My cousin did that for her birthday and I loved the idea! We haven’t decided if we will rotate shelters yet, I am leaning towards yes though. I like visiting the shelter to become familiar with them if we ever decide to get Tucker a sibling.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh that’s a great idea. Then you can also learn each shelter’s policies and decide if that’s a good fit for you. There’s one local shelter that does great work but I would not adopt from them because we have serious philosophical differences. Fortunately there are lots of places to choose from! Although I guess it’s not so fortunate that so many shelters are required…

        Well I digress. The main thing is: WHAT? When is Tucker getting a sibling??? 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment